Bright Lights 2017 Event as iCalendar

09 March 2017


Join us at Bright Lights, the annual “chat show style” event showcasing the University of Auckland’s Distinguished Alumni Award recipients for 2017. This candid, entertaining discussion will be led by alumnus Finlay Macdonald.

  • When: Thursday 9 March, 6.30pm–8:00pm
  • Where: The Ballroom, Grand Millennium Auckland (formerly Rendezvous Hotel), 71 Mayoral Drive, Auckland
  • Tickets: $15 (seating is general admission)

Join us for complimentary light refreshments after the event.

Click here to purchase tickets to Bright Lights

Tickets are strictly limited, so book early to avoid disappointment.

This year’s award recipients are:


Carol Hirschfeld, BA 1984 | Arts

Carol Hirschfeld (Ngati Porou, Rongowhakaata) is Head of Content at Radio New Zealand and one of the nation’s most iconic broadcasters. She is an experienced MC, presenter and speaker, her audiences including new University of Auckland alumni at Graduation. Carol is a former trustee of Teach First NZ, the Hone Tuwhare Charitable Trust, and the NZ Lam Charitable Trust, and is an ambassador for Breast Cancer Cure.


Professor Ian Hunter, BSc 1974, MSc 1975, PhD 1980 | Science

Ian Hunter is the Hatsopoulos Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and runs its BioInstrumentation Laboratory. He has more than 500 publications and 100 patents to his name, and has received prestigious awards for teaching excellence. He has founded or co-founded over 25 companies.


Dr Lance O’Sullivan, BHB 1999, MBChB 2002 | FMHS

Lance O’Sullivan (Te Rarawa, Ngā Puhi, Ngati Maru) is a medical and community leader living and working in Kaitaia. Lance is an accomplished author, national and international public speaker, role model, leader and innovator. He is a passionate advocate for Māori health and was named Māori of the Year in 2013 and Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year in 2014.


Lisa Reihana, BFA 1988, MDes Unitec Institute of Technology 2014 | CAI

Lisa Reihana (Ngā Puhi and Ngāti Hine Ngāi Tu) is a multi-disciplinary artist who has contributed in powerful ways to multimedia, photography, sculpture and screen culture in New Zealand. Her work is held in public and private collections in Europe, the US, Australia and locally. She has been chosen to represent New Zealand at the 2017 Venice Biennale.


Erna Takazawa, BOptom 2012 | FMHS

Erna Takazawa is Samoa’s first and only optometrist. Through her work, children, people with disabilities and pensioners have access to free eye-care. She is the National Eye Coordinator and a member of Samoa’s Allied Health Council. Erna lectures in Fiji and trains eye nurses from around the Pacific. In 2015 she received a Queen’s Young Leaders Award.